Where we come from:

Bahir Dar University College of Medicine and Health Sciences was established in 2007, known as Bahir Dar University Medical School, till 2009 when it became one of the four Bahir Dar University premier College. It is one of the youngest medical training institution in Ethiopia; having been in the business of medical and health professionals training just over 10 years.

Where we are Located:

The new and main campus (Tibebe Ghion Campus) is located on the outskirt of the vibrant Bahir Dar city (one of the ten most beautiful cities in Africa and one of the twelve UNESCO Learning Cities Awardee of 2015) about 7 km south from the city center on the way to Adet District and about 23 km from the Blue Nile Falls (locally called ‘Tis Esat’ (Smoke of Fire)).

The other and the older campus (Felege Hiwot Hospital Campus) is located at Felege Hiwot Referral Hospital along the shore of Lake Tana (the largest lake in Ethiopia and the source of the Blue Nile River) with its 37 islands harboring historical Ethiopian Orthodox churches and monasteries.

The clinical teaching disciplines of the College of Medicine and Health Sciences are currently integrated with Tibebe Ghion Specialized Hospital (TGSH) of Bahir Dar University, and Felege Hiwot Referral Hospital of the Amhara Regional Government.

The Bahir Dar University College of Medicine and Health Sciences is made up of three schools and over 30 academic units. The schools are;

  • The School of Medicine (SOM)
  • The School of Public Health (SOPH)
  • The School of Health Sciences (SOHS)

The Center/institute under the College include;

  • Health Science Education Development Center (HSEDC)
  • Disease Prevention and Control Center (DPCC)
  • Center for Health Science Research (CHSR)

 Core Functions

The College delivers within the national mandate of Bahir Dar University as federal higher institution; teaching and learning, research and innovations, health care provisions and community services.

Teaching and Learning:

In this area of strategic focus, the College runs several Undergraduate and Graduate Programs as shown below.

1. Undergraduate Program:

A. School of Medicine

  • Degree of Doctor of Medicine (M.D)
  • Bachelor of Science in Anesthesia Nursing (upgrading)
  • Bachelor of Science in Psychiatric Nursing (upgrading)
  • Bachelor of Science in Radiography (Coming soon)

B. School of Health Sciences

  • Bachelor of Science in Adult Nursing
  • Bachelor of Science in Pediatric and Child Health Nursing
  • Bachelor of Science in Emergency and Surgical Nursing (regular and upgrading)
  • Bachelor of Science in Midwifery (regular and upgrading)
  • Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science (regular and upgrading)
  • Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy (regular and upgrading)

C. School of Public Health

  • Bachelor of Science in Health Informatics (Coming soon)

2. Postgraduate Program:

A. School of Medicine

  • Specialty in General Surgery
  • Specialty in Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • Specialty in Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery
  • Specialty in Pediatric and Child Health
  • Specialty in Internal Medicine
  • Specialty in Radiology and Imaging
  • MSC in Anesthesia (Coming soon)
  • MSC in Mental Health (Coming soon)

B. School of Health Sciences

  • MSC in Medical Microbiology
  • MSC in Medical Parasitology and Vector Control
  • MSC in Clinical Midwifery

C. School of Public Health

  • MPH in General Epidemiology
  • MPH in Field Epidemiology
  • MPH in Reproductive Health
  • MPH in General Public Health
  • MPH in Public Health Nutrition
  • MPH in Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH)
  • MPH in Health Systems and Project Management
  • MPH in Health Promotion
  • PhD in General Public Health

The College also run several short courses tailored to address specific needs of Regional Health Bureau, Ministry of Health and other stake holders. For more information about all out current programs please visit the site of each schools and departments.

Research and Innovations:

The College is envisioned to be a leader in health research in Ethiopia and the Region; working with both academic and other partners, both local and international. In a bid to conduct research that addresses actual needs of the Ethiopian population, the College has set its research priorities and thematic areas. These will form the core of the research work carried out at the College.

Below is the College Top Priority thematic area of research:

  1. Communicable and non-communicable diseases
  2. Nutrition and Health
  3. Health Systems and Policy
  4. Population,  Environment and Health
  5. Health Science Education and Innovation

Health Care Services:

The college will provide health care at Tibebe Ghion Specialized Hospital (TGSH), Felege Hiwot Referral Hospital (FHRH) and its satellite centers in Amhara Region.

Community Services:

The Comunity Service are conducted as independent activities anmd as part of research and teaching programs. These activities range from activities done by undergradute and postgrdaute students under the Community Based Education (CBE) program; medical service and health education provided as part of outreach programs of the academic units/the hospital.

Contact CMHS

College Of Medicine and Health Sciences

Bahir Dar University

 Bahir Dar, Ethiopia

Phone:- +251-0582-9 99275 79



Website Design and Developed by LTTU,ICT Copyright © 2017- Bahir Dar University